Program Achievements

AAPOR Awards

ASA Awards

Harvey G. and Joyce H. Behner Graduate Fellowship

Dr. Harvey G. Behner set up an endowed fund at Rackham named for himself and his wife Joyce in 2000, a few years before he passed away.  Neither Dr. nor Mrs. Behner earned degrees at U-M, though Dr. Behner took several specialized classes in the School of Dentistry at one point (he was a pediatric orthodontist).  Dr. Behner had a lifelong interest in graduate education and was particularly impressed with the programs and activities sponsored by the Rackham Graduate School.  At Dr. Behner’s request, the first award went to a student in a graduate program in Orthodontics in the School of Dentistry, because of his experiences there.  After the initial award, it was decided that the Behner Award was to go to PhD students whose career goal is in “university-based research, education, and service”. 

  • 2012-2013 Behner Fellow - Raphael Nishimura
  • 2011-2012 Behner Fellow - Jessica Broome
  • 2010-2011 Behner Fellow - Brady West


American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) Awards

The AAPOR Award is the Association’s lifetime achievement award. It is given for an outstanding contribution to the field of public opinion research, including: advances in theory, empirical research and methods; improvements in ethical standards; and promotion of understanding among the public, media and/or policy makers.  The following is a list of PSM affiliated faculty who have won this award:

  • 2010   Michael Traugott
  • 2001   Robert Groves
  • 1996   Eleanor Singer

The Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award is designed to recognize accomplishments in the fields of public opinion and survey research that occurred in the past ten years (2000 to present), or that had their primary impact on the field during the past decade. These innovations could consist of new theories, ideas, applications, methodologies or technologies. To be considered for the award, they must be publicly documented. The award can be given to individuals, groups or institutions.  The following is a list of PSM affiliated faculty who have won this award:

  • 2013   Frederick Conrad
  • 2008   Mick Couper
  • 2005   Roger Tourangeau
  • 2004   James Lepkowski
  • 2000   Robert Groves

The Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition award is in memory of Seymour Sudman; it recognizes his many important contributions to AAPOR as well as his teaching and mentoring students in the survey research profession.  The following is a list of PSM affiliated faculty and students who have won this award:

  • 2011   Joseph Sakshaug, PhD (honorable mention)
  • 2010   Courtney Kennedy, PhD
  • 2009   Philip Brenner, Post-Doc
  • 2009   Brady West, PhD
  • 2006   Andy Peytchev, PhD (honorable mention)
  • 2006   Ting Yan, Post-Doc (honorable mention)


American Statistical Association (ASA) Awards

JSM (the Joint Statistical Meetings) is the largest gathering of statisticians held in North America. It is held jointly with the American Statistical Association, the International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, the Statistical Society of Canada, and the International Chinese Statistical Association, and the International Indian Statistical Association.

ASA Fellows
Nominated by their peers, ASA Fellows are members of established reputation who have made outstanding contributions in some aspect of statistical work. Given annually, this is a great honor, as the number of recipients is limited to no more than one-third of 1% of the ASA membership

  • 2011     Michael Elliott
  • 2008     Steven Heeringa
  • 2008     Eleanor Singer
  • 2007     Mick Couper
  • 2003     Trivellore Raghunathan
  • 1999     Roger Tourangeau
  • 1992     James Lepkowski
  • 1992     Richard Valliant
  • 1982     Robert Groves


Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) Student Paper Competition

  • 2011  Qi Dong, PhD Candidate, "Combining Information from Multiple Complex Surveys"
  • 2011  Joseph Sakshaug, PhD Candidate, "Synthetic Data Generation for Small-Area Estimation in the American Community Survey"
  • 2011  Brady West, PhD Candidate, "Bayesian Analysis of Between-Group Differences in Variance Components in Hierarchical Generalized Linear Models"